Board of directors and working groups

Constitution of board

The major aerospace companies Meggitt, Moog Aircraft Group, Rolls-Royce and UTC Aerospace Systems are permanently represented on the MAA board of directors by senior managers. MAA members elect additional directors for two-year terms. Other directors are appointed to ensure that a variety of expert perspectives from across the Midlands aerospace cluster are brought to bear on board decision-making.

Electing new directors

MAA Chief Executive Andrew Mair announced the names of one newly elected directors and two directors returned to the MAA board for two year terms of office at the MAA members meeting and AGM on 1 November 2016.

The new director is James Sopwith, Group Marketing and Strategic Account Director, adi Group. David Danger, Managing Director, UTC Aerospace Systems - Marston Aerospace and Peter Smith, Chairman and Chief Executive, Nasmyth Group, were re-elected. Andrew Mair thanked Matthew Heath, Associate Director, Jonathan Lee Executive Search and Lee Kemp, Founder and Coach, Coaching for Change, for standing for election to the board.

MAA board directors

Pictured: MAA Chairman David Danger of UTC Aerospace Systems, MAA Director Wendy Stopher of Rolls-Royce, MAA Director Craig Fullwood of MJ Sections, with former MAA Chairman Clive Snowdon


Working groups

Reporting to the board and supporting the core MAA team are three industry-led working groups focused on: marketing and business development; innovation and technology and supply chain performance. These groups have met quarterly since 2004. Our working groups are the MAA's engine room.

Industry contribution

More than 60 people from across the Midlands aerospace industry serve on the MAA board or one of the working groups -- a number maintained since 2004. This network contributes over 600 person-hours of industry expertise every year to steering the MAA and helping deliver MAA activities. It lies at the heart of the MAA's success.

MAA Board meets 2013

MAA board meeting

Major company directors

Steve McMulkin
Group Quality Manager
Coventry, Birmingham, Shepshed

Stuart Mclachlan
Group Vice President & General Manager
Aircraft Control Components Sector
Moog Aircraft Group

Robin Hill (Chairman, MAA Technology Group)
Head of Electronics
Birmingham & Derby 

Mark Franklin
Cost Reduction Manager – Wolverhampton
UTC Aerospace Systems - Actuation Systems


Elected directors from the supply chain

Stephen Cheetham
Managing Director
PK Engineering

David Danger (MAA Chairman)
Managing Director
UTC Aerospace Systems - Marston Aerospace

Alan Duffield
General Manager, Winbro Advanced Machining
Winbro Group Technologies Limited

Craig Fullwood
Sales Manager
MJ Sections

Peter Smith (MAA Vice Chairman)
Chairman and Chief Executive
Nasmyth Group
Coventry and Pinxton

James Sopwith
Group Marketing and Strategic Account Director
adi Group


Appointed directors

Neil Holmes
Managing Director
Columbia Precision Ltd

Professor Hervé Morvan
Director, Institute for Aerospace Technology and Professor of Applied Fluid Mechanics
University of Nottingham

Jay Patel
Head of Economic Development
Wolverhampton City Council

Neil Rawlinson
Director - Strategic Development
The Manufacturing Technology Centre

Councillor Martin Rawson
Derby City Council

Annette Rothwell (Chairman, MAA Performance Group)
Senior Director, Strategic Sourcing
Esterline Corporation

Wendy Stopher (Chairman, MAA Business Development Group)
Head of Group Purchasing

Tony Tinley
Regional Officer
Unite the Union